Banking Latest News National Assembly

Senate Confirms 3 CBN’s MPC-Member Nominees, Rejects One

The Senate today confirmed three nominees forwarded to it by the Executive for appointment as members of the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC) of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) and rejected one.

The upper legislative house confirmed Prof. Adeola Adenikinju, Dr. Aliyu Sanusi and Dr Robert Asogwa for appointment but refused to confirm Dr Asheikh Maidugu.

The confirmation followed the consideration and adoption of the screening report of Senate Committee on Banking, Insurance and other Financial Institutions. The committee was directed on March 14 by the red chamber to screen the nominees following President Muhammadu Buhari’s request that they be confirmed.

The Chairman of the Committee, Sen. Rafiu Adebayo, while presenting the report during plenary, said that the committee recommended the rejection of Maidugu, having been dissatisfied with his response to the issue of dependence required for each member of the MPC.

He justified the basis of the committee’s decision, saying that“the committee is concerned that a regular civil servant laden with bureaucracy may not be independent in his judgment on each crucial decisions of the MPC that affects directly the whole economy.”

However, the Senate confirmed the nomination of Mrs. Aisha Ahmad and Mr. Edward Adamu for appointment as deputy governors of the apex bank.


Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *